Replacing Rotella for Silkolene

Woodruff

Replacing Rotella for Silkolene

Post by Woodruff »

Hello All, I'm new to the Rotary 'fraternity' and will have many questions. I apologise in advance as I'm sure they've all been asked before....many times. I purchased my 'un-moly'd' Commander last week. It's only done 2,000 miles and is in very good condition. (as it should be) The bike starts and runs well so I want to keep it in good condition for as long as possible before getting it moly'd. It's got Rotella in the tank but I'd like to switch to the Silkolene Synthetic.Is there any easy way to drain the tank? (Other than a big syringe)Does it matter if there's a little Rotella left in the tank when I refill with the Silkolene?Thanks in advance. Any tips are welcome. Rgds Keith
Dell Boy

Re: Replacing Rotella for Silkolene

Post by Dell Boy »

I have mixed different oils with no ill effects but whatever you do is at your risk. Why not carry on running it on Rotella? It is my experience that at around 28,000 miles the engine will require Moly treating so you have 26,000 miles to go. Derek.
Interpol2471

Post by Interpol2471 »

I drained my oil tank with an oil drain pump as you say and got most of the oil out and had no issues changing over. I have found the silkolene to run cleaner and I also use Activ8 to help protect the engine.Good luck and I guess this is the blue one from up North?Welcome Paul
Various rubbish in various states of decay.....
Woodruff

Post by Woodruff »

Many thanks Gents.Actually this is a grey one from Leeds.I don't know where the blue one from ebay has gone.CheersKeith
MrB

Post by MrB »