F1 Sport Failed Starter Motor

barney

F1 Sport Failed Starter Motor

Post by barney »

Hi All - I'm a newbie to this forum and a newbie to the world of rotaries. I have a 91 F1 Sport which was rebuilt by Norton in 2005. I've had the bike about a year now, and I have a few teething problems. The latest problem is critical as the bike won't even start!!Symptom- for a while now the bike has been difficult to start. It's slow to turn over on the starter, but slowly it will pick up speed and the engine will catch. This has been getting worse and worse over the last couple of months. Yesterday the bike failed to start on the button, but quickly fired up on a bump start. Today, the starter won't turn at all. The solenoid/relay clicks and the tacho jumps when I press the button, but the engine will not turn.My assumption is that the start motor has died? Anybody else have any other ideas?So if the starter has died, can I replace it easily? I have located the starter, removed most of the fairing, but can't get the screen/instrument cowl over the folks. Is this possible? is there a tick I don't know!Thanks in advance.Barney.
Richard Negus

Re: F1 Sport Failed Starter Motor

Post by Richard Negus »