New speedo cable for IP2?

Post Reply
Pike
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:39 pm

New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Pike » Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:38 pm

Anyone have any info on getting a new speedo cable for an IP2? I can't see any on Startright's site (unless I'm going daft which is perfectly possible). I realise that people like SpeedyCables will make anything up for me but I need to specify what I want. Length is easy but connections at either end are a bit more tricky...I could send the old one off to them but that extends the turnaround and I'm anxious to get an MOT(Mind you, would they notice at the MOT station? - Only if they rode it, I suppose)

johnbirchjar
moderator
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by johnbirchjar » Thu Jul 03, 2014 10:58 pm

As you say"Would they notice?" wink, I think not,in all the bike MOTs over the years I've never had a speedo checked,go on,chance it cool,J.B.

User avatar
kanonkopdrinker
Site Admin
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:59 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by kanonkopdrinker » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:04 am

The 'give away' is always that the trip is showing 000.0 ....That and the fact that the previous MoT shows the same mileage ...DC

User avatar
jwonnacott
moderator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Lanson, Cornwall

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by jwonnacott » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:38 am

AFAIK the speedometer is not part of the test.

Pike
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Pike » Thu Jul 10, 2014 7:21 am

Well the cable went part way through the year so the mileage won't be the same as the last MOT. However, a speedo is still pretty useful so does anyone have any info on the cable?TaPike

User avatar
Richard Negus
moderator
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Wilds of Lincolnshire

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Richard Negus » Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:01 am

Type of cable depends on which speedo you have..if you still have the large 'police' speedo (which sits higher than the tacho) then I don't know of an alternate to the proper one..if you have a Veglia/Norton ("Made in France" on the face) then a Yamaha cable can be adapted to fit. Those off the Commander (= Yamaha XJ900F / 2GH.83550.00) are about the right length and thread..if you have a Motometer/Norton ("Made in Germany" on the face) then that has a different thread size and the cable is NLA.I think ANIL have NOS Veglia speedos (ouch!) and Yamaha cables in stock.If it's only the inner wire that's broken, surely you can replace it with one from another?
Slower slower, no faster faster - the joys of old fogey mode to hooligan mode at the flick of a switch

Pike
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Pike » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:21 pm

"If it's only the inner wire that's broken, surely you can replace it with one from another?"Yes, very good point Richard. Why didn't I think of that? I was fixating on the fittings and ignoring the obvious. Ah well, I can't be clever AND good lookingThanksPike

JohnOR
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:21 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by JohnOR » Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:35 pm

The length of inner protruding each end should be stated somewherefor each speedo and drive (or can be measured by other owners) therefore a replacement inner can be made to order by J.J. Cables or your prefered supplierJohn

User avatar
site admin
Site Admin
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:36 pm
Contact:

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by site admin » Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:16 am

Hello! I'm back from a dark place no-one should ever have to visit...I may have missed a post or two but I don't think we know yet which cable you need, the bottom ends are all the same but the top end varies from a massive ally (M16?) thread down to the 'normal' thread of the smiths police speedo.With the veglia and motometer somewhere in between.I'm ready to take on the challenge again now :-) Tell me which one and I'll make it up from stock for £20.Graham

johnbirchjar
moderator
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by johnbirchjar » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:56 pm

Hi Graham,glad to have you back Very Happy,rgds,J.B.

Pike
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Pike » Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:05 am

Hi GrahamC'est un Veglia speedo Francaise (That's your actual french!) If you could make one up, that'd be fantastic. I'll drop you an email at Startright. Thanks very muchChris

johnbirchjar
moderator
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by johnbirchjar » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:58 pm

Hi guys,someone sent me an Email yesterday Re:IP2 speedo's??,why me?(I couldn't excess it anyway,incapatabilaty twix computers)rgds,J.B.

User avatar
graham
moderator
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:59 pm
Location: wakefield

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by graham » Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:32 pm

Hi JB,If you're involved in a thread, the bulletin board automatically keeps you updated when there's a new post.You can opt out if you want to, (untick 'notify me when a reply is posted') I leave it ticked, I quite like to see what's new :-)Graham

johnbirchjar
moderator
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by johnbirchjar » Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:11 pm

That would explain it smiley,Thanks Graham,J.B.

User avatar
andy588tt
moderator
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 2:34 am
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by andy588tt » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:04 pm

Hi PikeIf you are still looking for a NOS speedo cable complete for the Interpol 2 I might be able to help pm me and we can take it further.Ride SafeAndy cool
Ha ha eat my oily clag !!!!!!

Pike
moderator
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New speedo cable for IP2?

Post by Pike » Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:16 am

Hi AndyGraham made one up for me thanks so I'm all sorted. Now I've just got to get the bike out of the shed which means taking it through the kitchen and lounge! Ah, the joys of old housesThanks all the sameChris (Pike)

Post Reply